Archive Links

Consumer Archive
CU System Archive
Market Archive
Products Archive
Washington Archive

News Now

CU System
61 CU professionals graduate from CUNA Management School
MADISON, Wis. (8/12/14)-- Upon the July completion of CUNA Management School, 61 credit union professionals earned the Certified Credit Union Executive (CCUE) designation.
The 2014 graduating class brings the total number of designees to more than 3,300 nationwide.
CUNA Management School, a three-year program held in cooperation with the Graduate School of Business at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, cultivates leadership in current and future credit union managers through a blended curriculum of university classes and experiential learning.
"I've run this program for four years, and without fail, I'm amazed by the passionate, committed faces that greet me on the UW-Madison campus each July," said Meghann Dawson, director, CUNA Management School. "It's been an honor to work with this year's graduates over the past few years. Each and every one of them has more than earned their CCUE designation and the recognition that it will bring."
Of this year's 61 graduates, 33 graduated with honors and two graduated with high honors.
The CCUE designation, instituted in 1975, is designed for those aspiring to credit union leadership and recognizes commitment to the credit union movement.
The class presented $21,400.53--raised over the course of its three-year tenure--to the CMS Scholarship Fund during its graduation ceremony. The scholarship fund helps smaller credit unions and individuals without available financial resources to become future CUNA Management School graduates.
This year's Al Jordan Leadership Award went to Randy Turpin, director of branch operations, 121 Financial CU, Jacksonville, Fla., with $449 million in assets. Each year, the senior class nominates one student who best represents high moral character, leadership, credit union dedication and academic achievement to receive this award. It honors credit union pioneer Al Jordan, valedictorian of the 1954 inaugural class of CUNA Management School and Iowa Credit Union League president from 1954 to 1981.
RSS print
News Now LiveWire
#FreeGasFriday courtesy of @tvfcu, TN #creditunions
23 hours ago
If you were unable to watch or attend @cuna 's @thehill Hill forum on Wed., you can now watch the archived version:
1 Day ago
Time is running out. If you haven't taken the #NewsNow readership survey, please click here now:
1 Day ago
African financial inclusion possible with mobile money: @IMFNews study
1 Day ago
Louise Herring's birthday is Saturday. 105 years later, her legacy lives on through her kids
1 Day ago