Archive Links

Consumer Archive
CU System Archive
Market Archive
Products Archive
Washington Archive

News Now

CU System
CU System briefs (06/08/2010)
* RANCHO CUCAMONGA, Calif. (6/9/10)--The California and Nevada Youth Involvement Network (CNYIN), in partnership with the Richard Myles Johnson (RMJ) Foundation, has named Kern High School District's Regional Occupational Center (ROC), Bakersfield, Calif., and the Delta Academy in Las Vegas, Nev., as 2010 recipients of its School of the Year Award. Each school received $500. The ROC was nominated by Casey Woodruff of Kern Schools FCU, Bakersfield, for its on-campus, student-operated credit union branch, which employs 60 students each year. The Delta Academy was nominated by Colleen Maurer of Silver State Schools CU, Las Vegas, because its economic teacher, Adrianne Young, incorporates the National Endowment for Financial Education's High School Financial Planning Program in all her classes. The award honors a California or Nevada school that excels at providing youth financial literacy to students and has specific plans to continue doing so ... * HALIFAX, Nova Scotia (6/9/10)--Jamie Baillie, president of Credit Union Atlantic in Halifax announced he is a candidate for the leadership of Nova Scotia's Progressive Conservative Party. He previously served as chief of staff to former Premier John Hamm, who attended Baillie's announcement. The party will chose a new leader at a convention on Oct. 30. Baillie said he intends to keep his job with the credit union for the duration of the campaign, adding he would resign if he is named party leader. He will use evenings, weekends and vacation time to seek support for his bid (The Canadian Press June 7) ... * WASHINGTON (6/9/10)--Brian McVeigh, senior vice president of Lake Trust CU, Lansing, Mich., has been named to a two-year term on the Board of Directors of Credit Union Student Choice. Officers of the board include: Chairman, Tom Ryan, chief operating officer, Digital CU, Marlborough, Mass.; Secretary, Linda Stephens, vice president of lending, Wright-Patt CU, Fairborn, Ohio; and Treasurer, Tom Berquist, senior vice president, member strategies, BECU, Tukwila, Wash. Other board members are Peter Schmitt, president, Total Member Care, a PSCU Financial Services company; Charles "Chip" Filson, president, Callahan & Associates; and Jon Jeffreys, president, Credit Union Student Choice, a credit union service organization that provides turn-key private student lending services for credit unions ... * LANSING, Mich. (6/9/10)--Frederick L. Mills of Higgins Lake, Mich., died June 6 at the age of 85. Mills was president of Lansing Community CU for 25 years. He worked with the Board of Water and Light for more than 38 years, retiring as superintendent of fleet services. He is survived by three children and five grandchildren. A graveside service will be held Friday at Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens, Lansing (Lansing State Journal June 8) ...


News Now LiveWire
Final field-of-membership rule tops April 30 NCUA agenda
1 day ago
.@CUNA's @Nussle speaks to @VonnieQuinn about #StoptheDataBreaches and reg. relief.
1 day ago
RT @NCUFoundation: .The Foundation's @hylandhighway with @NatlJumpStart President/CEO Laura Levine at #FLHillDay2015 today:…
1 day ago
Seriously underwater homes rise, new-home sales tumble News Now:
1 day ago
#NewsNow Cornerstone Foundation awards $71K in grants
1 hour ago