Archive Links

Consumer Archive
CU System Archive
Market Archive
Products Archive
Washington Archive

News Now

CU System
Indiana league awards presented
INDIANAPOLIS (11/2/11)--The Indiana Credit Union League recently presented several awards for achievement, leadership and induction into its Hall of Fame, as well as state-level awards for social responsibility, philosophy and financial responsibility.

These credit unions received first-place awards at the league's statewide convention Oct. 7.

Dora Maxwell Award for Social Responsibility:

  • General CU, Fort Wayne, $50 million to $100 million in assets;
  • Finance Center FCU, Indianapolis, $200 million to $500 million;
  • Evansville (Ind.) Teachers FCU, $$500 million to $1 billion; and
  • Indiana Members CU, Indianapolis, $1 billion or more.
Louise Herring Award for Credit Union Philosophy in Action:

  • AAA FCU, South Bend, $50 million to $250 million in assets;
  • FORUM CU, Fishers, $250 million to $1 billion; and
  • Indiana Members CU.
Desjardins Award for Excellence in Adult Financial Literacy:

  • Finance Center FCU; and
  • Centra CU, Columbus,  $500 million or more assets.
Desjardins Award for Excellence in Youth Financial Literacy:

  • Finance Center FCU.
Loren Roth (right), president/CEO of CommunityWide FCU, South Bend,  receives the Indiana Credit Union League's 2011 Professional Achievement Award from league Chairman Ron Mazur.
Those credit union entries receiving first-place honors in their asset-size category at the state level were forwarded on to the Credit Union National Association's national competition.

Loren Roth, president/CEO of CommunityWide FCU, South Bend, received the league's 2011 Professional Achievement Award.

He has been in the credit union business for 41 years. During his tenure at CommunityWide FCU, the credit union has grown to $268 million in assets with 11 branches, serving more than 37,000 members.

Jerry Walters (right), chairman of the board of Harvester Financial CU, Indianapolis,  is congratulated by Indiana Credit Union League Chairman Ron Mazur as he receives the  Leadership Achievement Award. (Photos provided by the Indiana Credit Union League)
Jerry Walters, chairman of the board of Harvester Financial CU, Indianapolis, was presented with the Leadership Achievement Award.

He has been a board member since 1977 and chairman since 1979.

William C. Hord, vice president of enterprise risk management, Finance Center FCU, Indianapolis, and Brett Rinker, chief operating officer at Centre FCU, Muncie, are 2011 recipients of the league's Emerging Leadership Awards.

Three leaders were inducted into the Indiana Credit Union Hall of Fame: Norman R. Blum, retired president and member of the board of directors of Fortress FCU, Marion; Ron Collier, CEO of Indiana Members CU, Indianapolis; and Sandy Heller, president of Northern Indiana FCU, Merrillville.


News Now LiveWire
.@LACULeague in @DailyComet: #creditunions' "old" benefits attractive to new generation
1 day ago
At @FTC request, court halts operations of an alleged debt-relief scammer calling itself “FTC Credit Solutions.”
1 day ago
.@daytondailynews : The secret is out about #creditunions @DayAirCU @CODECreditUnion
1 day ago
.@CUNA's @Nussle on @SenatorReid :(2of2)On behalf of more than 102M #CU members,I thank him 4 his leadership over the yrs/wish him the best.
1 day ago
.@CUNA CEO Nussle on Sen. Reid’s decision not 2 seek re-election (1of2): Sen. Reid has a long history of #CU support throughout his career.
1 day ago