Archive Links

Consumer Archive
CU System Archive
Market Archive
Products Archive
Washington Archive

News Now

CU System
LSCU presents annual awards, announces board election results
BIRMINGHAM, Ala., and TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (6/20/14)--The League of Southeastern Credit Unions (LSCU) made a handful of credit union professionals happy last week, announcing the recipients of its 2014 LSCU Awards. The league also elected its new board members.

The awards recognized professionals, volunteers and individual credit unions that have contributed in an outstanding fashion to the development and growth of the credit union movement in Alabama and Florida.

"The LSCU Awards signify the effort and member-focused approach by each of these recipients," said league President/CEO Patrick La Pine. "They represent some of the best and brightest of our industry and illustrate how credit unions work hard every day to help their members."

The awards were presented June 13 at the Southeast Credit Union Conference and Expo in Orlando.

Recipients included:
  • Larry Scott, past president/CEO, CAMPUS USA CU, Jonesville, Fla., with $1.2 billion in assets, for the Distinguished Service Award, the league's highest honor, which recognizes a credit union professional who has dedicated their entire career to the movement;
  • Arthur J. Wood III, president/CEO, Railroad and Industrial FCU, Tampa, Fla., with $281 million in assets, for the Professional of the Year award;
  • Stephen Taylor, teller and marketing services, Florida State University CU, Tallahassee, Fla., with $149 million in assets, for the Young Professional of the Year award;
  • Lynne April, board member, Alabama CU, Tuscaloosa, Ala., with $641 million in assets, for Volunteer of the Year award; and
  • Baptist Health South Florida FCU, Miami, up to $100 million in assets; First Commerce CU, Tallahassee, $100 to $500 million in assets; and CFE FCU, Lake Mary, Fla., $500 million or more in assets, each were named credit union of the year.
After the expo, which attracted more than 1,100 attendees from four states and featured 136 vendors, the league announced its new board executive committee.

The new members include:
  • Chair: Steve Swofford, Alabama CU;
  • Chairman-elect: Alvin Cowans, McCoy FCU, Orlando, Fla., with $485 million in assets;
  • Vice chair: Tina Williams, Mobile (Ala.) Educators CU, with $77 million in assets;
  • Treasurer: Pat Mason, Sun CU, Hollywood, Fla., with $69 million in assets;
  • Secretary: Bob Steensma, Five Star CU, Dothan, Ala., with $259 million in assets; and
  • Immediate past chair: Mary Ott Wood, Florida West Coast CU, Brandon, Fla., with $86 million in assets.

RSS print
News Now LiveWire
FHFA today announced it's extending comment deadline for guarantee fees Fannie, Freddie charge lenders to Sept. 8.
3 hours ago
The 2014 @CUwomen Forum was held in Gold Coast, Australia yesterday during @WOCCU 's World CU Conference.
6 hours ago
.@CFPB obtains $92M in debt relief from Colfax Capital Corp. See also:
7 hours ago
Julian Castro was sworn in as 16th secretary of @HUDgov Dept. of Housing and Urban Development Mon.
7 hours ago
.@CUNA's Chief Economist @SchenkMike talks consumer confidence--at highest levels since 2007 w/ @TheStreet @JoeDeaux
7 hours ago