Archive Links

Consumer Archive
CU System Archive
Market Archive
Products Archive
Washington Archive

News Now

CU System
Last call for WOCCU DSA nominations
MADISON, Wis. (3/17/11)--The deadline for nominations for World Council of Credit Unions' (WOCCU) Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is March 25. Nominees for the global credit union movement's most distinguished honor must be submitted to WOCCU headquarters. Recipients will be honored at WOCCU’s World Credit Union Conference, July 24-27 in Glasgow, Scotland.
Credit Union National Association Chair Harriet May accepted her 2010 Distinguished Service Award from World Council of Credit Unions Chair Barry Jolette. (Photo provided by World Council of Credit Unions)
DSA honors are presented to individuals and organizations that have provided exemplary service to the global credit union movement in support of the concept of improving people’s lives through credit unions. WOCCU does not award the DSA every year, choosing instead to bestow the honor based on the viability and worthiness of candidates in the eyes of the awards committee. “The Distinguished Service Award recognizes the best of the best within the credit union movement,” said WOCCU Director Ron Hance, president/CEO of Heritage Family CU in Rutland, Vt., and chair of the WOCCU Awards Committee. “Our hope is that DSA will continue to foster excellence in service among credit union individuals and organizations worldwide.” In 2010, DSA honors were awarded to Lech Kaczyñski, the deceased president of Poland who was central in helping establish the country’s credit union movement; Credit Union National Association Chair Harriet May, president/CEO of GECU of El Paso, Texas; and Credit Union Executives Society, the Madison, Wis.-based professional development organization for credit union executives. “We’re not an island unto ourselves, something I realized as I reached out to our neighbor to the south, working in ways that impacted my government, my community and my country,” said May upon receiving the award at the 1 Credit Union Conference in Las Vegas last July. “If I have been one drop in the sea that lifts the life of one individual, then I have been successful.” In the case of individuals, DSA recipients may be WOCCU member organization officers, directors or representatives; international credit union pioneers; field technicians with a long and outstanding service record; or persons whose actions have benefitted global credit union development. WOCCU may present up to three individual awards in a single year. Institutional recipients may be organizations or agencies that have provided financial or technical assistance to develop international credit union movements and their service infrastructures over an extended period of time. WOCCU presents no more than one institutional award each year. Nominations must be made by a WOCCU member organization. For more information, use the link.
Other Resources


News Now LiveWire
20 breakout sessions available at @CUNA's April lending school #creditunions
6 hours ago
.@CoreLogicInc: Jan. home prices jump nearly 6% annually #Market #NewsNow
7 hours ago
CU Effect: @StLouisComm collaborates to save homes with FHLB grant #NewsNow
13 hours ago
#NewsNow March 31 deadline for Biz Kid$ fin. ed grant application
14 hours ago
.@CUNA sends letters on @RepAndyBarr QM bill, @RepMickMulvaney @NCUA budget transparency bill #NewsNow
15 hours ago