Archive Links

Consumer Archive
CU System Archive
Market Archive
Products Archive
Washington Archive

News Now

CU System
MarylandDC league elects officers presents awards
OCEAN CITY, Md. (6/17/08)--More than 600 credit union staff, volunteers and business partner representatives gathered at the Maryland and District of Columbia Credit Union Association’s (MDDCCUA) third annual meeting and convention recently where they listened to speakers, elected officers and presented awards. At the meeting, Michelle Singletary, nationally syndicated columnist for The Washington Post suggested several opportunities for credit unions to help people build wealth (Focus Newsletter June 16). Among them: market the credit union’s presence, form alliances with community agencies and groups, hold seminars, provide a remittance service, establish an Internal Revenue Service volunteer income tax assistance program, fill the banking gap with specialized services, and offer a second-chance checking account. Dennis Dollar, former National Credit Union Administration chairman and president of Dollar and Associates, predicted that credit unions will be the dominant community financial institutions, share branching will be a key credit union differentiator, and credit unions will retain their federal tax exemption. Awards presented at the meeting included:
* The Hall of Fame Congressman Wright Patman Memorial Award--the MDDCCUA’s top award--was presented to J. Wesley Bone, MDDCCUA chairman and board member of First Financial of Maryland FCU, Lutherville. Bone concluded 37 years of service as the credit union’s chairman of the board. Patman was a co-sponsor of the original Federal Credit Union Act. * The 2008 Volunteer of the Year--the Janet C. Glomp Memorial Award--went to Richard Reinhardt, director emeritus, Destinations CU, Baltimore; and * The 2008 Professional of the Year--Judith A. Burgin Memorial Award--went to Cindy Prestandrea, president/CEO, Prince Georges Community FCU, Upper Marlboro.
The election results for the four at-large seats on the MDDCCUA Board of Directors were announced by a VoteNet representative at MDDCCUA’s third annual business Meeting held on June 14 at the Clarion Fontainebleau Hotel in Ocean City, Md. The following incumbents won the election, each with three-year terms:
* Miguel Boluda, Jr., CEO, PAHO-WHO FCU, Washington, D.C.; * Chris Conway,CEO, Educational Systems FCU, Greenbelt; * Charles Mallon, CEO, Congressional FCU, Washington, D.C.; * Rod Staatz, CEO, State Employees’ CU, Linthicum.

RSS print
News Now LiveWire
Falling #gas prices: Pros, cons for U.S. economy #NewsNow #Market
10 hours ago
Members of Interstate FCU have voted to merge with Credit Union of Southern California
12 hours ago
.@InfinityFCU has named Liz Hayes as president/CEO. Hayes was formerly EVP and chief administrative offficer at @Affinity_Plus
12 hours ago
.@wpcu battles Speedway in round 3 of Dayton Brand Madness via @DBJnews
14 hours ago
New at #NewsNow: Fed regulators approve new #QRM rule.
15 hours ago