Archive Links

Consumer Archive
CU System Archive
Market Archive
Products Archive
Washington Archive

News Now

CU System
Nine named to WOCCU International Exec Volunteer Corps
MADISON, Wis. (9/28/09)--World Council of Credit Unions (WOCCU) has welcomed nine credit union professionals to its International Executive Volunteer Corps. (IEVC). Established in 1995, the corps recognizes inductees for their years of international service to WOCCU. The 2009 inductees are:
* Mike Delker, vice president of credit union relations, the Texas Credit Union League; * Pat Drennan, president/CEO, 1st Gateway CU, Camanche, Iowa; * Patrick Jury, president/CEO, Iowa Credit Union League (ICUL); * Mike Lanotte, senior vice president of association services, Credit Union Association of New York; * Luis Lopez, executive president, Cooperativa Abraham Rosa, Puerto Rico; * Sue Mitchell, CEO, Mitchell, Stankovic & Associates, Boulder City, Nev.; * Murray Williams, chief operating officer, ICUL; * Vicki Williams, senior executive vice president and chief operating officer, League of Southeastern Credit Unions (formerly Alabama Credit Union League); and * Gary Wolter, retired president/CEO of the former Alabama league.
"These are individuals who have repeatedly given their time and expertise to credit unions around the world," said Brian Branch, WOCCU executive vice president and chief executive officer. "Their volunteer work enables us to reach out to many more credit unions than we can by ourselves." IEVC members and other volunteers contribute valuable technical assistance and credit union industry know-how, bolstering WOCCU's efforts in developing countries. Participants also gain international development experience through volunteer service to the global credit union movement. "Credit unions derive their strength from volunteer efforts," said Pete Crear, WOCCU president/CEO. "Thanks to the generosity of this year's inductees and those who have come before, we've been able to tap into this vital energy and commitment on behalf of credit unions worldwide." Past inductees into the four-year-old program include: Pat Bodnar, Arizona Credit Union League; Carlos Calderón, OAS Staff FCU; Kathy Chartier, Members CU; David Chatfield, formerly of the California and Nevada Credit Union Leagues (CCUL); Anne Cochran, Louisiana Credit Union League; Letty Cordon-Hernandez, formerly with CCUL; Richard Ensweiler, Texas Credit Union League (TCUL); John Florian, Ohio Credit Union League; Mary Martha Fortney, National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors (NASCUS); Dana Hofmann-Geye, formerly with the Minnesota Credit Union Network; David Low, OSU FCU; Kurt Lykins, Corporate One FCU; Rick Myxter, Pennsylvania Credit Union League; Barbara Pogue, NASCUS; Bill Raker, US FCU; Kasey Rockwell, Credit Union Association of Oregon; Marcus Schaefer, Truliant FCU; Sarah Turner, Maryland and District of Columbia Credit Union Association; and Linda Webb-Mañon, TCUL.
Other Resources


News Now LiveWire
CUNA: CUNA offices closed through Friday, News Now returns Monday
12 24 ago
Reminder: @CUNA's Madison, D.C. offices will be closed through Friday, open again on Monday. #NewsNow will publish Monday.
12 23 ago
MI dentist to match @CUDirect's $20K to @HurleyMedical as a result of #20for20 online voting @CMNHospitals
12 23 ago
New #creditunion chartered in St. Louis - #LutheranFCU - by @TheNCUA Only 3rd new FCU charter this year.
12 23 ago
Don't get hacked during the holidays-use these tips from @CUNA #StoptheDataBreaches
12 23 ago