Archive Links

Consumer Archive
CU System Archive
Market Archive
Products Archive
Washington Archive
150x172_CUEffect.jpg
Contacts
LISA MCCUEVICE PRESIDENT OF COMMUNICATIONS
EDITOR-IN-CHIEF
MICHELLE WILLITSManaging Editor
RON JOOSSASSISTANT EDITOR
ALEX MCVEIGHSTAFF NEWSWRITER
TOM SAKASHSTAFF NEWSWRITER

News Now

CU System
Scammed Spammed Stung webinar set for Oct. 21
MADISON, Wis. (9/28/09)--As part of National Protect Your Identity Week (PYIW) Oct. 17-24, the Credit Union National Association (CUNA) will offer a webinar aimed at helping credit unions protect themselves and their members from identity theft fraud. The webinar, Scammed, Spammed and Stung: Protect Your Credit Union and Your Members from ID Theft Fraud, is scheduled for Wednesday, Oct. 21, at 1-2:30 p.m. CDT (2-3:30 p.m. EDT, 12-1:30 p.m. MDT, and 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m. PDT). The webinar is sponsored by CUNA Strategic Services, CUNA, and three strategic alliance partners. Speakers will include:
* Kevin Prince, chief technology officers, Perimeter eSecurity; * Lynn Scheck, senior vice president of business development for Intersections, an identity theft prevention services; * Jamie King, president and co-founder of Verafin, a software company specializing in money laundering and fraud detection solutions; and * Janet Garkey, manager of group education at CUNA's Center for Personal Finance.
According to the National Foundation for Credit Counseling (NFCC), a sponsor of the PYIW, 45% of U.S. adults--roughly 101 million people--feel at most risk for identity theft when they make a purchase with a credit card that requires the card to be temporarily taken out of their sight. Only 21% of consumers said they were concerned about falling victim to ID theft when using their card in person. In 2007, roughly 8.4 million Americans reported ID theft. In 2008, the number increased 19% to 10 million victims, said Susan C. Keating, president/CEO of NFCC. Joining NFCC as full sponsor of PYIW is the Council of Better Business Bureaus. CUNA is one of the supporting PYIW coalition members. The webinar costs $99. For more information, use the link.
Other Resources

RSS





print
News Now LiveWire
CUNA: CUNA offices closed through Friday, News Now returns Monday http://t.co/a5xbLzQKDj
14 hours ago
Reminder: @CUNA's Madison, D.C. offices will be closed through Friday, open again on Monday. #NewsNow will publish Monday.
12 23 ago
MI dentist to match @CUDirect's $20K to @HurleyMedical as a result of #20for20 online voting http://t.co/hqmIc9LpK1 @CMNHospitals
12 23 ago
New #creditunion chartered in St. Louis - #LutheranFCU - by @TheNCUA http://t.co/faPfANGS0P. Only 3rd new FCU charter this year.
12 23 ago
Don't get hacked during the holidays-use these tips from @CUNA http://t.co/jEqxni6NhO #StoptheDataBreaches http://t.co/woIxPOIyys
12 23 ago