Removing Barriers Blog

CFPB Announces CP Task Force Members
Posted January 09, 2020 by CUNA Advocacy

The CFPB issued a release announcing the members of its Taskforce on Federal Consumer Financial Law. The Taskforce will examine the existing legal and regulatory environment and deliver recommendations on ways to improve and strengthen consumer financial laws and regulations. 

The four Taskforce members are:

  • Dr. J. Howard Beales, III, former Professor of Strategic Management and Public Policy at the George Washington University and former Director of the Bureau of Consumer Protection at the Federal Trade Commission;
  • Dr. Thomas Durkin, Senior Economist (Retired) at the Federal Reserve Board;
  • L. Jean Noonan, Partner at Hudson Cook, former General Counsel at the Farm Credit Administration, and former Associate Director of the Bureau of Consumer Protection's Credit Practice at the Federal Trade Commission; and
  • Todd J. Zywicki, Professor of Law at George Mason University (GMU) Antonin Scalia Law School, Senior Fellow of the Cato Institute, and former Executive Director of the GMU Law and Economics Center.