Removing Barriers Blog

CFPB announces new Credit Union Advisory Council members
Posted October 04, 2019 by CUNA Advocacy

Yesterday, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau announced new members to the Credit Union Advisory Council (CUAC). The CUAC advises and consults with the CFPB on consumer financial issues related to credit unions.  Currently, all members of the CUAC are also members of CUNA.

Members of the CUAC are (new members in bold):

  • Chair: Sean Cahill, president/CEO, TrueSky CU, Oklahoma;
  • Arlene Babwah, vice president, risk management, Coastal FCU, North Carolina;
  • Teresa Campbell, president/CEO, San Diego County CU, California;
  • Rick Durante, vice president, director of corporate social responsibility and government affairs, Franklin Mint FCU, Pennsylvania;
  • Doe Gregersen, vice president and general counsel, Landmark CU, Wisconsin;
  • Brian Holst, general counsel, Elevations CU, Colorado;
  • Racardo McLaughlin, vice president of mortgage originations/operations, TwinStar CU, Washington; and
  • Rick Schmidt, president/CEO, WestStar CU, Nevada.

CUNA strongly supports the existence of the CUAC and supports legislation to codify its existence. The CFPB announced changes to the CUAC’s charter and extended members' terms in March, a decision that came after multiple meetings between CUNA, Leagues and credit unions with CFPB staff urging the bureau to preserve the CUAC and extend members’ terms in order to provide stability.